Why VAR disallowed Griezmann’s goal for France for offside

We analyze every VAR decision made in all 64 games at the 2022 World Cup. Antoine Griezmann controversially conceded a goal against France against Tunisia and here’s why.

After each game, we review key events to review and explain the process under VAR protocol and the Laws of the Game.

– World Cup VAR review complete: Every decision analyzed

VAR overruled: Griezmann’s goal disallowed for offside

What happened: Antoine Griezmann thought he had scored a spectacular goal against France in the 98th minute, but there was a VAR review for offside.

VAR decision: The goal is not allowed.

VAR review: This is right at the heart of the offside law and the definition of “intentional play” to reset the phase.

Griezmann was caught offside when Aurelien Chouamey crossed the ball into the area. However, the French striker did not try to play the ball or challenge his opponent.

Defender Montasar Talbi tried to head the ball into the net, but it was not long before the ball fell to Griezmann and scored.

– Why VAR gave a penalty to Lionel Messi

If the officials believe that Talby committed “deliberate play”, the phase is restored, Griezmann is on and the goal is counted.

If the officials believe that Talbi did not commit “intentional play”, the phase will not be restored, Griezmann will remain offside from Chouamein’s pass and the goal will be disallowed.

Essentially, “intentional play” is about the defender controlling his actions. It’s not about a player trying to kick or head the ball. If the defender stretches to play the ball and has no real influence on where it goes, it is not considered an “intentional play”.

This is a highly subjective area of ​​offside law, so New Zealand referee Matthew Conger had to go to the pitch monitor to make the decision.

VAR Abdullah al-Marri – who was also on duty for Portugal’s controversial handball penalty against Uruguay on Monday – and his Qatari counterpart Taleb al-Marri, acting as VAR offside, will advise Talbi. t was heading and stretching, so it couldn’t have been ‘deliberate play’.

This decision will still be controversial because the complexities of “special play” are not widely known and understood.

Whether you think this is the right decision or not, ultimately what you consider to be “play on purpose”. But it’s fair to say that most people believe this is a particularly harsh VAR decision.


Also Read :  Grant Wahl, renowned soccer journalist, dies at age 49 at Qatar World Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button