Six with ties to MIT honored as 2022 ACM Fellows | MIT News

On January 18, The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) announced its 2022 Fellows “recognized for significant contributions in areas including cybersecurity, human-computer interaction, mobile computing, and recommendation systems in many other areas.” Among the new crop are six prominent scientists connected to MIT.

Armen Avanessians (1982) Professor Constantinos Daskalakis of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) is honored for his “contributions to the fundamentals of algorithmic game theory, mechanism design, sublinear algorithms, and theoretical machine learning.” Daskalakis game theory; Economics probability theory; A theoretical computer scientist working at the interface of statistics and machine learning. His current work is multi-agent learning; learning from biased and dependent information; Focuses on causal inference and econometrics.

A native of Greece, Daskalakis joined the MIT faculty in 2009. He is a member of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) and is associated with the Operations Research Center for Information and Decision Systems (LIDS). He is also an investigator at the Foundations of Data Science Institute. He previously received the 2018 Nevlinna Prize from the International Mathematical Union; 2018 ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award; He has received honors such as the Kalai Game Theory and Computer Science Award from the Game Theory Society and the 2008 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award.

Jerome B. Wiesner Professor of Media Arts and Sciences and Hiroshi Ishii, co-director of the MIT Media Lab, were honored for “contributions to tangible user interfaces and human-computer interaction.” Ishii joined the MIT Media Lab in 1995 and founded the Tangible Media Research Group with the goal of making digital tangible by giving digital information and computation a physical form. He is credited as the founder of “Tangible User Interfaces”.

Also Read :  'This Changed How I Use My Computer': Let Me Introduce You to Ctrl+Shift+T

Ishii and his research team presented at ACM SIGGRAPH; Ars Electronica, ICC Center Pompidou academic, including the Cooper Hewitt Design Museum and Milan; Visions of “Tangible Bits” and “Radical Atoms” have been presented in many areas of design and art. Design week. With Ishii’s motto, “Be Artistic and Analytic,” the exhibitions showcase the rigor of both scientific and artistic review and the design of engaging interactions. Be poetic and realistic.” Ishii was elected to the CHI Academy in 2006 and received the SIGCHI Lifetime Research Award in 2019 for his fundamental and influential research contributions to the field of human-computer interaction.

Kevin Fu 98, MEng ’99, PhD ’05, an alumnus of the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and now a professor of electrical and computer engineering in the Khoury College of Computer Sciences at Northeastern University, was honored by MIT. Contributions to computer security and secure engineering of medical devices in particular.Fu’s research interests include security related to emerging sensor technology in biomedical engineering and cyber-physical systems. His work includes medical devices; autonomous transportation; health care delivery; It has important implications for manufacturing and the Internet of Things.

Before joining Northeastern in January; Fu is an adjunct professor at the University of Michigan and an adjunct professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. In addition, Starting in 2021, he is the interim director for medical device cybersecurity within the US Food and Drug Administration Center for Devices and Radiological Health and the program director for cybersecurity at the FDA Digital Health Center of Excellence. His honors include Sloan Research Fellow; MIT Technology Review TR35 Innovator of the Year; Fellow of the IEEE Fed100 Award and National Science Foundation (NSF) Career Award. USENIX Security, Received Best Paper Awards from IEEE S&P and ACM SIGCOMM; He received an earlier Test of Time Award from IEEE Security and Privacy for work on pacemaker security.

Also Read :  Acer expands Aspire line with new all-in-one desktops, notebooks

Jimmy Lin ’00, MNG ’01, PhD ’04, an alumnus of the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and now professor and David R. Cheriton Chair in the School of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo, has been honored. answering questions; Contributions to Information Retrieval and Natural Language Processing.”

Lin’s research centers on the challenge of connecting users to relevant information at scale. Over the years, Intelligence analysts from causality seekers on the web; medical doctors; He has worked on systems designed for a variety of users, from historians to data scientists. Before joining the University of Waterloo, Lin was at the University of Maryland. In addition, Twitter Cloudera, He spent time at Microsoft and the National Library of Medicine. He is currently the Chief Technology Officer of Primal, a Waterloo-based knowledge graph and deep learning company. Previously, He is the Chief Scientist of based in Waterloo, Ontario.

Rafael Pass PhD ’06; An alumnus of the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, now a professor of computer science at Tel-Aviv University. In addition to being the director of the Checkpoint Institute for Information Security, he is also a professor at Cornell Tech. / was honored by Cornell University.Contributions to the foundations of cryptography.Pass’s work covers cryptography and computational complexity and game theory, as well as the theoretical foundations of blockchains. Focuses on connections and connections between cryptography and Kolmogorov complexity.

Also Read :  ICBA launches new AI-powered mobile app for crop disorder detection - World

His honors include: 9th NSA Best Scientific Cybersecurity Paper Competition; 2022, Best Paper Award at the 41st International Writing Conference 2021; Wallenberg Academy Fellow, awarded by the Royal Academy of Science in Sweden; Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship; AFOSR Young Investigator Award; Microsoft Research Institute Scholarship; and the NSF Career Award. Prior to earning his PhD from MIT, he earned a bachelor’s degree in engineering physics and a master’s degree in computer science from the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Sweden.

Jaime Teevan SM ’01, PhD ’07, an alumnus of the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science who is now a Microsoft Technology Fellow, was honored. human-computer interaction; information retrieval and support for productivity.” Teevan is responsible for driving research-backed innovation in Microsoft’s core products related to everything from AI to hybrid work. Previously, she served as a technical advisor to CEO Satya Nadella and led the Productivity team at Microsoft Research.

In addition to becoming an ACM Fellow this year, Teevan was inducted into the ACM SIGIR and CHI Academies. She is also an adjunct professor at the University of Washington. He earned a BS from Yale University before earning a master’s degree from MIT and a Ph.D.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button